I am a Tree

I am a tree.
You will never be
As tall as me.
Up up up I go
My branches swaying in the wind
Just so
I relish in the afternoon breeze
As I listen to the buzz of the bees.
Many animals make their home in me.
The little bird,
The snake,
Wait a minute..
Is that a toad
But what is that I hear?
Is it the growl of a bear?
No? Humans you say?
Driving this way
With trucks full of machines
In the tray?
Roarrrr it goes
As it digs into my bark.
Owww it hurts
“Please stop!” I cry.
They don’t hear me.
They don’t stop.
Crick crack I hear
“Timber!” they yell
As I feel my great body falling
To the forest floor.
I am a tree.
You will never be
As tall as me
But now I am no more.

i-am-a-tree

When we cut down trees we damage ecosystems. Let’s put a stop to illegal logging of virgin forests.

via Daily Prompt: Tree

Thoughts?

